For a more perceptive color selection

Plea for a more perceptive color selection in software

Prof. Alexander Sahoo, College of Arts, Bremen

Computer software generally provides limited options for color selection. Visual color selectors (ie color fields and color bars with regulators which represent cuts by Farbraume, see Fig. 1) may function halfway, but if the fine adjustment of individual close-by color nuances is too inaccurate.

For small, precise steps, one works most numerically on the computer. Here the standard programs of most programs are limited to a selection of the following systems: RGB (Red, Green, Blue), CMYK (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Key) and LAB (Lightness, a, b) and HSB (Hue, Saturation , Brightness). Alternatively, there are known palettes for preselected shades (Pantone, HKS, etc.).

RGB and CMYK

The RGB and CMYK systems are device-specific systems. RGB refers to a mixture of colored light (e.g., monitors), and CMYK refers to a mixture by four-color printing (e.g., offset printing). They have a clear need for these technologies. However, they are rather impractical for a proper color selection. They do not correspond to an easily conceivable cognitive model of a color space. Or who could think without much, to say, which RGB values ​​give a “neutral” yellow? Since the RGB system is an additive system of light mixing, the idea is particularly difficult, since our thinking is strongly influenced by the subtractive pigment mixture. But also the mixing of printing inks has its faults: from which CMYK proportions is mixed purple (= bright violet)?

Example of a color picker (Adobe Photoshop)

CIELAB

The LAB system (CIELAB) is a device-independent color space. One of the advantages of the LAB color space is its four poles (instead of three basic colors). It is much more of our perception to speak of a green tending to green or red, than of a blue tending yellow. Also, we can imagine a blue-green (turquoise) better than a blue yellow (according to Ewald Hering, there are the four psychological primal colors yellow, green, blue and red). This system is very useful as a color space, but the parameters or coordinates a and b are very unintelligible. The poles of the X axis are red and green, the poles of the Y axis are blue and yellow. A corresponds to the x-axis value and B to the y-axis value. The brightness (L) changes on the Z axis.

The idea of ​​colorful (or saturated) colors in the form of a color circle is much more vivid. The hue is thus given in the form of an angle. This corresponds to 0 ° red, 90 ° yellow, 180 ° green and 270 ° blue. For the less colorful, thus grayed colors, the parameter of “coloring” is significant. The grayer the less colorful. The brightness is the third parameter to define a color.

Each colored color has exactly its own brightness, yellow is quite bright and violet is quite dark. However, the larger the uncoloured, ie gray, part of a color, the more the hue can vary in its brightness because gray can move between black and white. A hue with the bluntness zero is completely gray. Here, the possible brightness difference is greatest (from white to black).

Hue, Lightness and Croma (HLC, HSB)

A definition of color over the three chromaticity, chromaticity and brightness characteristics corresponds to the generally accepted state of the art as used in the leading color systems RAL Design, NCS and Munsell. For this comprehensible and easily conceivable cognitive model for describing a color impression, the LAB color space is measured differently, or polar coordinates are used instead of Cartesian coordinates.

The color model described here with its parameters Hue, Croma and Lightness has unfortunately not been abbreviated as either LCh, LCH or HLC. I prefer the order HLC (hue, brightness, saturation), since I think it is useful to start with the hue.

The same coordinate once in Cartesian (a, b) and once in polar (H, C) notation

In many computer programs, there is one similar color description with the HSB (Hue, Saturation, Brightness) parameters, as described above. However, this is only another description of the RGB color model. Just as the LAB color space can also be described as HLC coordinates, the RGB color model can also be mapped with the parameters HSB. In contrast to the LAB color space, the perceived brightness changes in this model with the same Brightness value of different colors (in LAB, the perceived brightness of different colors with the same L value is approximately the same, see Fig. The HSB model does not correspond to Ewald Hering’s “four primary colors”, but has the three initial colors red (0 °) green (120 °) and blue (240 °).

Comparison between the color circles of the RGB and CIELAB color models (HSB and HLC). The CIELAB / HLC color circle is more attractive, because CIELAB is designed in the same way as RGB.

Missing input option

Unfortunately, the option to enter color as HLC coordinates has hardly been available until now, mostly only as a plug-in, such as CSColors! Or easy.Filter ColorConverter 1.2. A direct implementation in “quasi-standard programs”, such as the Adobe Creative Suite, would be highly desirable.

A major and significant shortcoming of all providers of HLC color selectors known to me is, however, the lack of a logically necessary limitation of the parameter values ​​of L (lightness / brightness) as a function of C (chroma / chromaticity). So far, no HLC color selection interface is limited to the limits of the LAB color space. (Maximum chromaticity = no brightness variation, minimal chromaticity = maximum brightness variation). For this a graphic interface would be urgently needed to visualize this situation visually.


Alexander Sahoo 2014

Für eine wahrnehmungsgerechtere Farbauswahl

Plädoyer für eine wahrnehmungs­­gerechtere Farbwahl in Software

Prof. Alexander Sahoo, Hochschule für Künste, Bremen

Computersoftware stellt in aller Regel zu eingeschränkte Möglichkeiten für die Farbwahl zur Verfügung. Visuelle Farbwähler (also Farbfelder und Farbbalken mit Reglern, welche Schnitte durch Farbräume darstellen, siehe Abb. 1), mögen halbwegs funktionieren, geht es jedoch um die feine Einstellung einzelner nahe beieinander liegender Farbnuancen, sind sie zu ungenau.

Für kleine präzise Schritte arbeitet man am Computer am günstigsten numerisch. Hier sind die Standardangebote der meisten Programme auf eine Auswahl folgender Systeme beschränkt: RGB (Rot, Grün, Blau), CMYK (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Key = Schwarz), LAB (Lightness, a, b) und HSB (Hue, Saturation, Brightness). Alternativ gibt es die bekannten Paletten für vorausgewählte Farbtöne (Pantone, HKS, etc.).

RGB und CMYK

Die Systeme RGB und CMYK sind gerätespezifische Systeme. RGB bezieht sich auf Mischung aus farbigem Licht (z.B. auf Monitoren) und CMYK bezieht sich auf Mischung durch Vierfarbdruck (z.B. Offsetdruck). Im Bezug auf diese Technologien haben sie ihre klare Notwendigkeit. Für eine wahrnehmungsgemäße Farbwahl jedoch sind sie eher unpraktisch. Sie entsprechen keinem einfach vorstellbaren kognitiven Modell eines Farbraumes. Oder wer könnte ohne viel zu überlegen, sagen, welche RGB-Werte ein „neutrales“ Gelb ergeben? Da es sich beim RGB-System um ein additives System von Lichtmischung handelt, ist hier die Vorstellung besonders schwer, da unser Denken sehr von der subtraktiven Pigmentmischung geprägt ist. Aber auch das Mischen von Druckfarben hat seine Tücken: aus welchen CMYK-Anteilen wird Lila (= helles Violett) gemischt?

Beispiel eines Farbwählers (Adobe Photoshop)

Beispiel eines Farbwählers (Adobe Photoshop)

CIELAB

Das LAB-System (CIELAB) ist ein geräteunabhängiger Farbraum. Einer der Vorteile des LAB-Farbraumes sind seine vier Pole (an Stelle von drei Grundfarben). Es entspricht viel mehr unserer Wahrnehmung, von einem zum Grün oder zum Rot tendierendem Gelb zu sprechen als von einem zu Blau tendierendem Gelb. Auch können wir uns ein Blaugrün (Türkis) besser vorstellen als ein Blaugelb (nach Ewald Hering gibt es die vier psychologischen Urfarben Gelb, Grün, Blau und Rot). Als Farbraum ist dieses System sehr brauchbar, die Parameter bzw. Koordinaten a und b jedoch sind sehr unanschaulich. Die Pole der X-Achse sind Rot und Grün, die Pole der Y-Achse Blau und Gelb. A entspricht dem x-Achsenwert und B dem y-Achsenwert. Auf der Z-Achse ändert sich die Helligkeit (L).

Viel anschaulicher ist die Vorstellung der bunten (oder gesättigten) Farben in Form eines Farbkreises. Der Farbton wird also in Form eines Winkels angegeben. Dabei entspricht 0° Rot, 90° Gelb, 180° Grün und 270° Blau. Für die weniger bunten, also vergrauten Farben ist das Parameter der „Buntheit“ bedeutend. Je grauer, desto weniger bunt. Als dritter Parameter zur Definition einer Farbe dient die Helligkeit.

Jede bunte Farbe hat genau eine eigene Helligkeit, Gelb ist recht hell und Violett ist ziemlich dunkel. Je größer jedoch der unbunte, also graue Anteil einer Farbe, desto mehr kann der Farbton in seiner Helligkeit variieren, da Grau sich zwischen Schwarz und Weiß bewegen kann. Ein Farbton mit der Buntheit Null ist vollkommen grau. Hier ist der mögliche Helligkeitsunterschied am größten (von Weiß bis Schwarz).

Farbton, Helligkeit und Buntheit (HLC, HSB)

Eine Definition von Farbe über die drei Farbmerkmale Farbton, Buntheit und Helligkeit entspricht dem allgemein anerkannten Stand der Technik, wie er in den führenden heute gebräuchlichen Farbsystemen RAL Design, NCS und Munsell verwendet wird. Für dieses verständliche und einfach vorstellbare kognitive Modell zur Beschreibung eines Farbeindrucks wird der LAB-Farbraum anders vermessen bzw. anstelle von kartesischen Koordinaten werden polare Koordinaten verwendet.

Das hier beschriebene Farbmodell mit seinen Parametern Hue (Farbton), Croma (Buntheit) und Lightness (Helligkeit) wird bisher leider nicht ganz einheitlich entweder LCh, LCH oder HLC abgekürzt. Von mir wird die Reihenfolge HLC (Farbton, Helligkeit, Sättigung) präferiert, da ich es für sinnvoll halte, mit dem Farbton zu beginnen.

Die gleiche Koordinate einmal in kartesischer (a, b) und einmal in polarer (H, C) Schreibweise

Die gleiche Koordinate einmal in kartesischer (a, b) und einmal in polarer (H, C) Schreibweise

In vielen Computerprogrammen gibt es eine der soeben beschriebenen HLC-Definition ähnliche Farbbeschreibung mit den Parametern HSB (Hue, Saturation, Brightness). Diese ist jedoch nur eine andere Beschreibungsform des RGB-Farbmodells. So wie der LAB-Farbraum auch als HLC-Koordinaten beschrieben werden kann, so kann auch das RGB-Farbmodell mit den Parametern HSB abgebildet werden. Im Unterschied zum LAB Farbraum ändert sich in diesem Modell die wahrgenommene Helligkeit bei gleichbleibendem Brightness-Wert unterschiedlicher Farbtöne (in LAB ist die wahrgenommene Helligkeit unterschiedlicher Farbtöne mit gleichen L-Wert annähernd gleich; siehe Abb. 3). Auch entspricht das HSB Modell in seiner Farbtonverteilung nicht den oben erwähnten „vier Urfarben“ nach Ewald Hering, sondern hat die drei Ausgangsfarben Rot (0°) Grün (120°) und Blau (240°).

Vergleich zwischen HSB (RGB) und HLC (LAB) Farbkreis gleichbleibender Helligkeit

Vergleich zwischen HSB (RGB) und HLC (LAB)

Fehlende Eingabemöglichkeit

Leider gibt es die Option, Farbe als HLC-Koordinaten einzugeben, bisher kaum, zumeist nur als Plug-in wie z.B. CSColors! oder easy.Filter ColorConverter 1.2. Sehr zu wünschen wäre eine direkte Implementierung in „Quasi-Standardprogramme“ wie beispielsweise die Adobe Creative Suite.

Ein großes und wesentliches Manko bei allen mir bekannten Anbietern von HLC-Farbwählern ist jedoch die fehlende logisch notwendige Beschränkung der Parameterwerte von L (Lightness / Helligkeit) in Abhängigkeit von C (Chroma / Buntheit). Bisher ist kein HLC-Farbwahlinterface auf die Grenzen des LAB-Farbraumes beschränkt. (Maximale Buntheit = keine Helligkeitsvariation, minimale Buntheit = maximale Helligkeitsvariation.) Hierfür wäre dringend ein passendes grafisches Interface zu entwickeln, welches diesen Sachverhalt visuell veranschaulicht.

Alexander Sahoo 2014