Allgemein

Adobe products soon without Pantone colors!

Adobe products soon without Pantone colors!

In the middle of the dreary season, on November 22, 2021, Adobe published a note in the help system that packs a punch:

Changes coming to the Pantone Color Libraries.
In March, 2022, the Pantone Color Libraries that are pre-loaded in Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Adobe Color, and Adobe Capture will be removed from future software updates. To minimize the impact of this change, we are working on an alternative solution for the affected products. Stay tuned for updates.

How should we assess this news?

The entry is tantamount to an earthquake in the paint and design industry. It’s not just that many Adobe users are working with Pantone colors and will soon be turning to alternative solutions (which ones?). It is probably due in large part to the firm integration into Adobe products since the 1990s that Pantone now plays the leading role among color systems worldwide. Pantone is so well established today that it is no longer possible to do without it. Multinational corporations, independent institutions, entire countries (even the EU! – see here) have defined their corporate design according to Pantone. This probably under the assumption that Pantone colors would be readily available for all time. But this is a fallacy, which should now become clear to many.

As soon as the Adobe software no longer contains Pantone colors, this will first trigger a run on Pantone Connect, where one can download the latest Pantone-ACB color palettes. This is more cumbersome than direct integration in the program, and the question is whether this will be permanently possible free of charge, as this would not be a lucrative model for Pantone. (Currently, there is a distinction between a free Basic access and a paid one with extended components). It is to be assumed that Pantone users will change their mind. It can also be assumed that other software manufacturers will follow Adobe’s example, primarily for licensing cost reasons. Thus, the importance of Pantone will decline…. sooner or later, Pantone will prove to be what it has been at its core ever since Lawrence Herberts set out to change the world of color with his system in the 1950s as a part-time employee of an ink manufacturer: a brainless dinosaur that at some point can no longer cope with the demands of a changing world – so the rampant marketing with “Pantone hotels” and the “Color of the Year” is of little use.

The lack of quality of the system should be known to most readers of these lines:

  • incredible variety of color guides and hues contained therein
  • hiereto associated patchy software integration
  • lack of accuracy and high metamerism of color guides and shades, due to diverse manufacturers with different papers and pigments
  • very restrictive licensing policy, no freely available source for color values

Why would Adobe users be willing to pay money for access to Pantone colors, which has always been free? Why would Pantone be willing to make its color collections available to Adobe users for free, while numerous other software houses pay licensing fees?

Where will the road lead?

It should become clearer: calculated and freely available colors are far more useful than color collections from commercial vendors. You can work with them much more systematically, you don’t need to pay a license fee for them, they are available for free in virtually any software, and above all: you don’t make yourself dependent on rights holders who mainly have the “protection” of “their” colors in mind… We recommend RGB as a simple solution, and CIELAB, especially CIE-HLC, as a qualitatively better one.

Many market gaps are opening up!

What now?

We will try to contribute a part to the discussion and upcoming developments. At the moment, a first idea is to contact Adobe to collaborate on the “alternative solution for the affected products”.

More ideas will follow, we will keep you posted

.

Join the color liberation effort – it’s more exciting than ever.

The Board of freieFarbe e.V.

More information

Note in the Adobe Help system.
A slightly more in-depth Printweek article on the topic with several opinions
Pantone at Wikipedia
Pantone Connect
Description of several Pantone/Adobe integration errors (german)
List of Pantone licensees in the software sectorh
Pantone Hotel Brussels
Color of the year
Portrait of the company founder Lawrence Herbert
Article and Podcast: Episode of Thrilling Tales of Modern Capitalism

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Allgemein

Adobe Produkte demnächst ohne Pantone Farben!

Adobe Produkte demnächst ohne Pantone-Farben!

Mitten in der trüben Jahreszeit, am 22. November 2021, veröffentlichte Adobe eine Notiz im Hilfesystem, die es in sich hat:

Changes coming to the Pantone Color Libraries
In March, 2022, the Pantone Color Libraries that are pre-loaded in Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Adobe Color, and Adobe Capture will be removed from future software updates. To minimize the impact of this change, we are working on an alternative solution for the affected products. Stay tuned for updates.

Übersetzung: Im März 2022 werden die Pantone-Farbbibliotheken, die in Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Adobe Color und Adobe Capture vorinstalliert sind, aus zukünftigen Software-Updates entfernt. Um die Auswirkungen dieser Änderung zu minimieren, arbeiten wir an einer Alternativlösung für die betroffenen Produkte. Bleiben Sie dran für Updates.

Wie ist diese Nachricht einzuschätzen?

Der Eintrag kommt einem Erdbeben in der Farben- und Gestaltungsbranche gleich. Es ist nicht nur so, dass viele Adobe-Anwender mit den Pantone-Farben arbeiten und demnächst auf alternative Lösungen (welche?) zurückgreifen werden. Es dürfte der seit den 90er Jahren festen Integration in die Adobe-Produkte maßgeblich mit zu verdanken sein, dass Pantone heute die weltweit führende Rolle der Farbsysteme spielt. Pantone ist heute so sehr etabliert, dass man nicht mehr darauf verzichten kann. Multinationale Konzerne, unabhängige Institutionen, ganze Staaten (sogar die EU! – siehe hier) haben ihr Corporate Design nach Pantone definiert. Dies wohl unter der Annahme, dass Pantone-Farben für alle Zeiten gut verfügbar sein würden. Dies ist aber ein Trugschluss, was nun vielen klar werden dürfte.

Sobald die Adobe-Software keine Pantone-Farben mehr enthält, wird dies zunächst einen Run auf Pantone Connect auslösen, wo man sich die aktuellsten Pantone-ACB-Farbpaletten herunterladen kann. Dies ist umständlicher als die direkte Integration im Programm, und es stellt sich die Frage, ob dies dauerhaft kostenfrei möglich sein wird, denn für Pantone wäre dies kein lukratives Modell. (Aktuell wird unterschieden zwischen einem kostenfreien Basic-Zugang und einem kostenpflichtigen mit erweiterten Bestandteilen). Es ist zu vermuten, dass Pantone-User sich umorientieren. Es ist auch zu vermuten, dass andere Softwarehersteller, vor allem aus Lizenzkostengründen, dem Beispiel von Adobe folgen werden. So wird die Bedeutung von Pantone zurückgehen… früher oder später wird sich Pantone als das erweisen, was es im Kern ist, seitdem sich Lawrence Herberts in den 1950er Jahren als Part-Time-Employee eines Druckfarbenherstellers aufmachte, die Welt der Farbe mit seinem System zu verändern: ein hirnarmer Dinosaurier, der den Anforderungen einer sich verändernden Welt irgendwann nicht mehr gewachsen ist – da nützt das ausufernde Marketing mit „Pantone-Hotels“ und der „Color of the Year“ nur wenig.

Die mangelnde Qualität des Systems dürfte den meisten Lesern dieser Zeilen bekannt sein:

  • unübersichtliche Vielfalt an Farbfächern und darin enthaltener Farbtöne
  • hiermit verbundene lückenhafte Softwareintegration
  • mangelnde Genauigkeit und hohe Metamerie der Farbfächer und Farbtöne, bedingt durch diverse Hersteller mit verschiedenen Papieren und Pigmenten
  • sehr restriktive Lizenzpolitik, keine frei zugängliche Quelle für Farbwerte

Warum sollten die Adobe-Anwender bereit sein, für den Zugang zu Pantone-Farben, der ja immer kostenlos war, Geld zu bezahlen? Warum sollte Pantone bereit sein, seine Farbkollektionen für Adobe Anwender kostenlos bereit zu stellen, während zahlreiche andere Softwarehäuser Lizenzgebühr entrichten?

Wohin wird der Weg gehen?

Es dürfte klarer werden: berechnete und frei verfügbare Farben sind weitaus sinnvoller als Farbkollektionen kommerzieller Anbieter. Mit ihnen kann man viel systematischer arbeiten, man braucht keine Lizenzgebühr hierfür zu bezahlen, sie stehen quasi in jeder Software kostenlos zur Verfügung, und vor allem: man macht sich nicht abhängig von Rechteinhabern, die hauptsächlich den „Schutz“ „ihrer“ Farben im Sinn haben… Wir empfehlen als einfache Lösung RGB, und als qualitativ bessere CIELAB, vor allem CIE-HLC.

Viele Marktlücken tun sich auf!

Was nun?

Wir werden versuchen, einen Teil zur Diskussion und zu den anstehenden Entwicklungen beizutragen. Momentan ist eine erste Idee, Kontakt zu Adobe aufzunehmen, um an der „alternative solution for the affected products“ mitzuwirken.

Weitere Ideen werden folgen, wir halten Sie auf dem Laufenden.

Machen Sie mit bei der Farbbefreiung – es ist spannender denn je.

freieFarbe e.V.
Der Vorstand

Weitere Informationen

Notiz im Adobe Hilfesystem
Ein etwas tiefer gehender Artikel der Printweek zum Thema mit mehreren Stellungnahmen
Pantone bei Wikipedia
Pantone Connect
Beschreibung mehrerer Fehler der Pantone/Adobe-Integration
Liste der Pantone-Lizenznehmer im Softwarebereich
Pantone Hotel Brüssel
Color of the year
Portrait des Firmengründers Lawrence Herbert
Artikel und Podcast: Episode of Thrilling Tales of Modern Capitalism

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.