Crossmedial Dilemma

Crossmedial Dilemma

Media-neutral in theory and practice

The development of a logo or a whole corporate design for different media will need some thorough consideration. When selecting colours, care should be taken that these can be displayed in all media. So primarily on the monitor and in offset printing, sometimes also as adhesive film, wall paint, neon ad and so on. It should also be noted that not every technically reproducible colour is also optimal for every application. In four-colour printing, for example, a colorimetrically accurate conversion of a given hue (for example, from an sRGB, Lab or HLC fan) usually requires halftoning, so that C, M, Y, and K printing inks are not being printed as full-tone but rasterized. This can result in raster effects that may cause problems in certain cases. A classic are fine fonts or thin lines which appear with jagged edges or even partially disappear. This looks very unprofessional. When designing, you should therefore plan in time how the design can be well implemented in practice.

Technical problems

To keep the example of fine fonts: If it is clear in advance that a word mark or text font will frequently be reproduced as a rasterized colour shade in print, it is better not to choose a contrasting font with finest lines and serifs à la Bodoni or Didot. If it has to be such a font, then use it only as solid black.

If a small font size and a light colour cannot be avoided, then only a corresponding spot colour ink will result in a satisfactory print image. For example, you might think of terms and conditions that are printed on the back of a letterhead or invoice form. To ensure that the back print does not interfere with the front side, a light gray or other bright hue must be used. Depending on where and with which equipment this product is printed, a spot colour used instead of the standard CMYK inks can lead to considerable additional costs. Or it can prevent a more cost-effective production through an online printing service altogether.

Screen display of an RGB or Lab gray tone
Rasterized representation of a four-colour gray tone

Peculiarities of the halftone screening process

Another possible source of the problem is the hue itself. If you are using RGB or Lab colours on the screen, you should consider that the conversion into CMYK may yield a pale and/or muted appearance after the screening process. This is especially the case when none of the primary colours reaches (almost) 100% ink coverage and when some black is added through the colour separation settings. In such cases you have to decide whether the accuracy of the hue has priority over a pure, saturated reproduction in the printing process or vice versa. In the latter case, you might start with the choice of a colour with CMYK values that are optimal for the preferred printing condition (e.g. for coated or uncoated paper in sheetfed offset). In the second step, a suitable media-neutral definition can then be derived in RGB or Lab. But be careful when the media-neutral colour is later converted back to CMYK or converted for a different printing condition. Then, depending on the rendering intent or the separation settings, a colour contamination may occur against the original CMYK values. The most elegant way to implement such specific colours is through device link profiles; However, this requires expertise and appropriate software. Well, the lament is on a high level. For normal users, the advantages of a uniform reproduction of media-neutrally defined colours clearly outweigh the drawbacks. Thanks to state-of-the-art technology such as fine or FM screens and high register accuracy in printing, a few percent of colour contamination will rarely catch the eye. And purists can again rely on spot colours instead. If our vision of free colour prevails, colours defined in sRGB or Lab may perhaps be readily available as custom-mixed inks in the future in order to achieve an exact colorimetric consistency. With the rather limited selection of spot colours available today, a certain deviation may have to be tolerated at times.
 
Eric A. Soder, Polygraphic Engineer, Uster (Switzerland), 4/2017 – polygrafix.ch

Crossmediales Dilemma

Crossmediales Dilemma

Medienneutral in Theorie und Praxis

Die Entwicklung eines Logos oder eines ganzen Erscheinungsbildes für verschiedene Medien will wohl überlegt sein. Bei der Auswahl von Farben ist darauf zu achten, dass diese möglichst in allen Medien auch darstellbar sind. Also primär am Monitor und im Offsetdruck, fallweise auch als Klebefolie, Anstrichfarbe, Leuchtreklame u. v. m. Weiter ist auch zu beachten, dass nicht jede darstellbare Farbe auch für jede Anwendung optimal ist. Beim Druck etwa wird eine farbmetrisch genaue Umsetzung eines gegebenen Farbtons (zum Beispiel in sRGB, Lab oder aus dem HLC-Fächer) im Regelfall dazu führen, dass die Skalenfarben C, M, Y, K in der Mischung nicht als Volltöne, sondern aufgerastert enthalten sind. Dadurch können Rastereffekte auftreten, die in gewissen Fällen Probleme bereiten. Ein Klassiker sind feine Schriften oder Linien, die als Rasterton gedruckt mit Treppenstufen erscheinen oder sogar wegbrechen können. Das sieht dann sehr unprofessionell aus. Bei der Gestaltung sollte man sich deshalb rechtzeitig Gedanken machen, wie das Design dann auch praktisch umgesetzt werden kann.

Technische Tücken

Um beim Beispiel feiner Schriften zu bleiben: Wenn im Voraus klar ist, dass eine Wortmarke oder Hausschrift häufig als Buntfarbe oder Grauton im Vierfarbdruck reproduziert wird, sollte dafür besser keine kontrastreiche Schrift mit feinsten Strichstärken und Serifen à la Bodoni oder Didot gewählt werden. Falls es doch eine solche Schriftart sein muss, dann eben nur als Vollton-Schwarz.

Wenn sich ein kleiner Schriftgrad und eine helle Farbe nicht vermeiden lassen, dann ergibt meist nur eine entsprechende Sonderfarbe ein zufriedenstellendes Druckbild. Man denke etwa an AGB, die auf die Rückseite eines Briefbogens oder Rechnungsformulars gedruckt werden. Damit der Rückseitendruck nicht störend auf die Vorderseite durchscheint, muss ein helles Grau oder ein anderer heller Farbton benutzt werden. Je nachdem, wo und in welcher Auflage diese Drucksache produziert wird, kann die zusätzliche oder anstelle von Skalenfarben verwendete Sonderfarbe zu erheblichen Mehrkosten führen. Oder dazu, dass die Produktion nicht kostengünstig auf einer Sammelform ausgeführt werden kann.

Bildschirmdarstellung eines RGB- bzw. Lab-Grautons
Gerasterte Darstellung eines vierfarbigen Grautons

Eigenheiten der Ausgabeverfahren

Eine andere mögliche Problemquelle ist der Farbton selbst. Wer am Bildschirm mit RGB- oder Lab-Farben gestaltet, sollte bedenken, dass die Umsetzung mit Skalenfarben bei der Rasterung blass und/oder verschmutzt wirken kann. Dies vor allem dann, wenn keine der Skalenfarben (fast) 100% Deckung erreicht und wenn durch den Separationsaufbau Schwarz beigemischt wird. In solchen Fällen wäre abzuwägen, ob die Genauigkeit des Farbtons Priorität hat oder eine möglichst reine, gesättigte Wiedergabe im Druck. Im letzteren Fall wäre es wohl nicht verkehrt, bei der Wahl der Farbe von drucktechnisch optimalen CMYK-Werten für die bevorzugte Druckbedingung auszugehen (z. B. für gestrichenes oder ungestrichenes Papier im Bogenoffset). Daraus lässt sich dann im zweiten Schritt eine passende medienneutrale Definition in RGB oder Lab ableiten. Doch aufgepasst, wenn die medienneutrale Farbe später wieder nach CMYK gewandelt oder für eine abweichende Druckbedingung umgesetzt wird. Dann kann abhängig vom Rendering Intent oder vom Separationsaufbau eine Verschmutzung gegenüber den ursprünglichen CMYK-Werten auftreten. Am elegantesten lässt sich die Umsetzung solcher Hausfarben über Device-Link-Profile steuern; dies erfordert allerdings Fachwissen und geeignete Software. Wohlgemerkt ist das Jammern auf hohem Niveau. Für Normalanwender dürften die Vorteile der einheitlichen Wiedergabe medienneutral definierter Farben deutlich überwiegen. Dank fortschrittlicher Technik wie Fein- oder FM-Raster und hoher Passergenauigkeit im Druck springen ein paar Prozent Schmutzfarbe nicht unbedingt ins Auge. Und Puristen können wiederum auf Schmuckfarben zurückgreifen. Wenn sich die Vision von freieFarbe durchsetzt, lassen sich in Zukunft in sRGB oder Lab definierte Farben vielleicht einfach individuell anmischen, um eine genaue farbmetrische Übereinstimmung zu erzielen. Mit den heute verfügbaren, beschränkten Schmuckfarbpaletten muss unter Umständen eine gewisse Abweichung in Kauf genommen werden.

 
Eric A. Soder, Techniker HF Polygrafie, Uster (Schweiz), 4/2017 – polygrafix.ch