Gamut comparisons with the HLC Colour Atlas

Gamut comparisons with the HLC Colour Atlas – which colours can be produced in which process?

The free PDF version of the HLC Colour Atlas shows the gamuts of different output situations. The CIELAB colour space is systematically run through in H/L/C with a constant step width. This method is exact, practical and meaningful. This article shows some interesting facts about the gamut comparison, which can be deepened much further with the pdf version.

CIELAB coordinate space and CIELAB color bodies

With the free colour HLC Colour Atlas XL the CIELAB colour space is divided into its polar coordinates HLC. If one divides H (interval 0..360), L (interval 0..100) and C (interval 0..125) into increments of 5, 32851 coordinates result.

CIELAB HLC coordinate space
View from above of the CIELAB HLC coordinate space used in the HLC Colour Atlas.

Approx. 40% of this coordinate space, however, are not color tones! The range of real existing color tones, the CIELAB color body, is limited by the so-called optimal or rectangular colors. These are spectral curves which show a reflection of 100% in one wavelength interval and 0% in all other intervals. In the article “Borders of the CIELAB color space” the facts are explained in more detail.

CIELAB rectangular colors
The optimal colors (here: 10nm intervals) form the outer shell of the CIELAB color space. The CIELAB color space is not only a part of the coordinate space, but also protrudes beyond it in some areas.
CIELAB color space
CIELAB color space in finer resolution (1nm optimum colors) with additional division into 20 brightness levels (L=5..100). (Image: Prof. Bernhard Hill, Aachen)

The CIELAB colour body has a very irregular shape. In the green area it reaches a maximum a-value of approx. -160, which goes beyond the a-interval in software products mentioned above, so this colour range cannot be set in the usual products (Adobe CC and others). However, this circumstance is usually not serious, since the highly intensive color areas in question can hardly be displayed in any output process close to the rainbow colors.

Gamuts of important output variants

“Gamuts” answer the question: which colors can be displayed in a certain output situation – where are the limits? It is clear, for example, that printing on newsprint can produce far less vivid colour tones than printing on a good monitor. The gamut production of the HLC Colour Atlas happened for most output variants in Photoshop: from a bitmap with the entire CIELAB coordinate space, the non-gamut areas were removed by “Select colour range, colours outside colour range”. This is quite simple and comprehensible for everyone with the Photoshop file below, but the underlying gamut algorithm remains unknown. In the case of the Epson proof printing variant, which is also available in printed form, the gamut was determined using Colorlogic’s ZePrA color management tool, which allows finer adjustment of parameters.

The HLC Colour Atlas compares the following output methods:

CIELAB-color space and sRGB-gamut
CIELAB-color space and sRGB-gamut contained therein (Image: RWTH-Aachen University, Research Group Color Science).
  • sRGB: Standard RGB according to HP/Microsoft: the international standard IEC 61966-2-1 is also adopted by ICC and W3C and has therefore established itself in the RGB area.
  • ISO coatedV2: the profile “ISO Coated v2 (ECI) 300%” is published by the European Colour Initiative (ECI) for the characterization data FOGRA39 developed by FOGRA. It is advantageous compared to the Adobe profile for FOGRA39 (see below).
  • FOGRA39: the profile “Coated FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004)” is provided by Adobe in the CreativeSuite/Cloud and is therefore used.
  • FOGRA51: the profile “PSO Coated v3 (FOGRA51)” is the offset printing standard for coated papers as proposed by FOGRA and ECI since 2016. It takes better account of the usual optical brighteners in papers.
  • FOGRA52: the profile “PSO Uncoated v3 (FOGRA52)” is the offset printing standard for uncoated papers, as proposed by FOGRA and ECI since 2016.

Circumference of color spaces

The table shows the calculated share of the HLC coordinates contained in the respective gamut in the entire CIELAB coordinate space. The CIELAB color space has an estimated share of approx. 60% of the CIELAB coordinate space, so that the values must be multiplied by 1.67 to obtain the share of the CIELAB color space.

Variant relative colorimetric absolutely colorimetric
sRGB 39.1% 39.1%
Coated FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004) 34.4% 26.9%
ISO coatedV2 37.3% 27.2%
Epson_SCP7000_720x1440dpi10c_GMGsemimatte250_V1_Photoshop 44.2% 40.4%
PSOcoated_FOGRA51 39.0% 27.7%
PSOuncoated_v3_FOGRA52 37.2% 17.0%

 

Which orange shades can be created by sRGB (left) and by offset printing on uncoated paper (right)?

Approximately 64% of the CIELAB color space, i.e. almost two thirds of all colors, can be produced both in proof printing and in sRGB. Nevertheless, there are big differences between the two gamuts:

The Epson proof print (left) can reproduce different color areas in a consistent manner, while sRGB cannot.

In offset printing on coated paper, another third of the color tones cannot be reproduced cleanly. Offset printing on uncoated paper cannot even reproduce half of the colours that can be printed on a proof printer.

The use of the relatively colorimetric rendering intent results in larger gamuts, but this software distortion of the original data does not correspond to the reality of the above question. The HLC Colour Atlas therefore shows the gamuts with absolute colorimetric rendering intent.

Further results

In which colour ranges can a process produce more or where can it produce fewer colour tones? Here are some important results:

Even if sRGB has a good colour range, it can only represent very few colour tones in the blue range. Here, even the offset printing is superior to it and even more so the proof printing, whose gamut is almost twice as big in this area.

sRGB is able to produce light colours a little better than proof printing, especially in the yellow and orange range, which brings out even more strong nuances in darker colours.

There are many more differences in detail, the data of the HLC Colour Atlas XL can be used to examine these differences in detail.

HLC-Colour Atlas XL Gamuts (Photoshop PSD)
The best way to do this is with the pdf version of the atlas, which you can download here shortly.

Comments and open questions

More uniformity and transparency would be desirable with gamut algorithms. In contrast to Photoshop, one can, for example, freely define the desired maximum DeltaE00 deviation from the target value in the color management program ZePrA from ColorLogic; this definition then has a decisive influence on the gamut limits. A short comparison between the Photoshop and ZEPRA generated gamut (the latter with maximum DeltaE00=1) shows that the Photoshop gamut is somewhat smaller.

Comparison of the gamut of the hue H50 generated in Photoshop and in ZePrA.

The question of a suitable algorithm for the limits of the CIELAB color space based on the surface points defined by the rectangular spectra is open. If these limits were fixed, the question could finally be answered whether a CIELAB coordinate represents a color at all (= lies within the body spanned by the rectangular spectra) or not. Non-color could then be excluded from the representation. A suitable approach might be the wireframe surface generation using “Meshing”, where polygon surfaces are placed on these points. Only points in the inner area of the body defined by the polygon surfaces are colors, external points are excluded from the color calculation or traced back to a surface point.


author: Holger Everding

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Gamutvergleiche mit dem HLC Colour Atlas

Gamutvergleiche mit dem HLC Colour Atlas – welche Farben sind in welchem Verfahren herstellbar?

Die kostenlose PDF-Version des HLC Colour Atlas zeigt die Gamuts verschiedener Ausgabesituationen. Der CIELAB-Farbraum wird mit gleichbleibender Schrittweite systematisch in H/L/C durchlaufen. Diese Methode ist exakt, praxisnah und aussagekräftig. Dieser Artikel zeigt ein paar interessante Fakten zum Gamutvergleich, die anhand der pdf-Version viel weiter vertieft werden können.

CIELAB-Koordinatenraum und CIELAB-Farbkörper

Beim freieFarbe HLC Colour Atlas XL wird der CIELAB-Farbraum in seine Polarkoordinaten HLC aufgeteilt. Wenn man H (Intervall 0..360), L (Intervall 0..100) und C (Intervall 0..125) in jeweiliger Schrittweite 5 einteilt, ergeben sich 32851 Koordinaten.

CIELAB HLC Koordinatenraum
Blick von oben auf den im HLC Colour Atlas verwendeten CIELAB-HLC-Koordinatenraum.

Ca. 40% dieses Koordinatenraums sind aber keine Farbtöne! Der Bereich real existierender Farbtöne, der CIELAB Farbkörper, wird begrenzt durch die sogenannten Optimal- oder Rechteckfarben. Dies sind Spektralkurven, die in einem Wellenlängenintervall eine Reflexion von 100% aufweisen und in allen anderen 0%. Im Artikel „Grenzen des CIELAB Farbraums“ wird der Sachverhalt eingehender begründet.

CIELAB Rechteckfarben
Die Optimalfarben (hier: 10nm-Intervalle) bilden die äußere Hülle des CIELAB-Farbraums. Der CIELAB-Farbraum ist nicht nur ein Teil des Koordinatenraums, sondern er ragt in manchen Bereichen auch darüber hinaus.
CIELAB Farbraum
CIELAB-Farbraum in feinerer Auflösung (1nm-Optimalfarben) mit zusätzlicher Einteilung in 20 Helligkeitsebenen (L=5..100). (Bild: Prof. Bernhard Hill, Aachen).

Der CIELAB-Farbkörper ist sehr unregelmäßig geformt. Im Grünbereich erreicht er einen maximalen a-Wert von ca. -160, was über das o.g. übliche a-Intervall in Softwareprodukten hinaus geht, dieser Farbbereich ist also in den üblichen Produkten (Adobe CC und andere) nicht einstellbar. Dieser Umstand ist aber in der Regel nicht weiter gravierend, da die betreffenden hoch-intensiven Farbbereiche nahe der Regenbogenfarben in fast keinem Ausgabeverfahren dargestellt werden können.

Gamuts wichtiger Ausgabevarianten

„Gamuts“ beantworten die Frage: welche Farben können in einer bestimmten Ausgabesituation dargestellt werden – wo liegen die Grenzen? Es ist klar, dass z.B. im Druck auf Zeitungspapier weitaus weniger kräftige Farbtöne erzeugt werden können als auf einem guten Monitor. Die Gamutherstellung des HLC Colour Atlas geschah für die meisten Ausgabevarianten in Photoshop: aus einem Bitmap mit dem gesamten CIELAB-Koordinatenraum wurden per „Auswahl Farbbereich, Farben außerhalb Farbumfang“ die Nicht-Gamut-Bereiche entfernt. Dies ist recht einfach und für jeden mit der u.g. Photoshop-Datei nachvollziehbar, der dahinterliegende Gamut-Algorithmus bleibt hierbei aber unbekannt. Bei der auch in gedruckter Form erhältlichen Epson-Proofdruck-Variante geschah die Gamutermittlung über das Colormanagement-Tool ZePrA von Colorlogic, mit dem eine feinere Justierung von Parametern möglich ist.

Der HLC Colour Atlas vergleicht nachstehende Ausgabeverfahren:

CIELAB-Farbraum und sRGB-Gamut
CIELAB-Farbraum und darin enthaltener sRGB-Gamut (Bild: RWTH-Aachen University, Forschungsgruppe Farbwissenschaft).
  • sRGB: Standard RGB nach HP/Microsoft: der internationale Standard IEC 61966-2-1 wird auch vom ICC und W3C übernommen und hat sich daher im RGB-Bereich durchgesetzt.
  • ISO coatedV2: das Profil «ISO Coated v2 (ECI) 300%» wird von der European Colour Initiative (ECI) zu den von der FOGRA entwickelten Charakterisierungsdaten FOGRA39 herausgegeben. Es ist vorteilhaft gegenüber dem Adobe-Profil zu FOGRA39 (s.u.).
  • FOGRA39: das Profil „Coated FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004)“ wird von Adobe in der CreativeSuite/Cloud mitgeliefert und ist daher gebräuchlich.
  • FOGRA51: das Profil „PSO Coated v3 (FOGRA51)“ ist der Offsetdruck-Standard für gestrichene Papiere, so wie er seit 2016 von FOGRA und ECI vorgeschlagen wird. Er berücksichtigt die üblichen optischen Aufheller in Papieren besser.
  • FOGRA52: das Profil „PSO Uncoated v3 (FOGRA52)“ ist der Offsetdruck-Standard für ungestrichene Papiere, so wie er seit 2016 von FOGRA und ECI vorgeschlagen wird.

Umfang der Farbräume

Die Tabelle zeigt den berechneten Anteil der im jeweiligen Gamut enthaltenen HLC-Koordinaten am gesamten CIELAB-Koordinatenraum. Der CIELAB-Farbraum hat einen geschätzten Anteil von ca. 60% am CIELAB Koordinatenraum, so dass man die Werte mit 1,67 multiplizieren muss, um den Anteil am CIELAB-Farbraum zu erhalten.

Variante relativ farbmetrisch absolut farbmetrisch
sRGB 39,1% 39,1%
Coated FOGRA39 (ISO 12647-2:2004) 34,4% 26,9%
ISO coatedV2 37,3% 27,2%
Epson_SCP7000_720x1440dpi10c_GMGsemimatte250_V1_Photoshop 44,2% 40,4%
PSOcoated_FOGRA51 39,0% 27,7%
PSOuncoated_v3_FOGRA52 37,2% 17,0%

 

Welche Orangefarbtöne können in sRGB (links) und im Offsetdruck auf ungestrichenen Papieren (rechts) erzeugt werden?

Sowohl im Proofdruck als auch in sRGB können ca. 64% des CIELAB-Farbraums, also knapp zwei Drittel aller Farben erzeugt werden. Trotzdem gibt es große Unterschiede bei beiden Gamuts:

Der Epson-Proofdruck (links) kann die Farbbereiche in etwa gleichbleibend gut darstellen, sRGB aber nicht.

Im Offsetdruck auf gestrichenen Papieren ist ca. ein weiteres Drittel der Farbtöne nicht sauber reproduzierbar. Der Offsetdruck auf ungestrichenen Papieren kann nicht einmal die Hälfte der am Proofdrucker machbaren Farben reproduzieren.

Durch die Verwendung des relativ farbmetrischen Rendering Intents ergeben sich zwar jeweils größere Gamuts, diese softwaretechnische Verzerrung der Ausgangsdaten entspricht aber nicht der Realität unserer o.g. Fragestellung. Der HLC Colour Atlas zeigt daher die Gamuts bei absolut farbmetrischem Rendering Intent.

Weitere Ergebnisse

In welchen Farbbereichen kann ein Verfahren mehr oder wo kann es weniger Farbtöne darstellen? Hier einige wichtige Ergebnisse:

Auch wenn sRGB einen guten Farbumfang aufweist, kann es doch im Blaubereich nur recht wenige Farbtöne darstellen. Hier ist ihm sogar der Offsetdruck überlegen und erst recht der Proofdruck, dessen Gamut in diesem Bereich fast doppelt so groß ist.

sRGB kann helle Farbtöne, vor allem im Gelb- und Orangebereich etwas besser darstellen als der Proofdruck, dieser holt dafür in dunkleren Farben noch weitere kräftige Nuancen heraus.

Es gibt viele weitere Unterschiede im Detail, anhand der Daten des HLC Colour Atlas XL lassen sich diese Unterschiede eingehend untersuchen.

HLC-Colour Atlas XL Gamuts (Photoshop PSD)
Am besten geht dies mit der pdf-Version des Atlas, die Sie hier in Kürze herunterladen können.

Anmerkungen und offene Fragen

Bei Gamut-Algorithmen wäre mehr Einheitlichkeit und Transparenz wünschenswert. Im Gegensatz zu Photoshop kann man z.B. im Farbmanagement-Programm ZePrA von ColorLogic die gewünschte maximale DeltaE00-Abweichung vom Sollwert frei definieren, diese Definition hat dann entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Gamutgrenzen. Ein kurzer Vergleich zwischen dem Photoshop- und ZEPRA-erzeugtem Gamut (letzterer bei maximalem DeltaE00=1) zeigt, dass der Photoshop-Gamut etwas kleiner ausfällt.

Vergleich des in Photoshop und in ZePrA erzeugten Gamuts des Farbtons H50.

Offen ist die Frage eines geeigneten Algorithmus für die Grenzen des CIELAB-Farbraums aufgrund der durch die Rechteckspektren festgelegten Oberflächenpunkte. Lägen diese Grenzen fest, könnte endlich die Frage beantwortet werden, ob eine CIELAB-Koordinate überhaupt eine Farbe darstellt (=innerhalb des durch durch die Rechteckspektren aufgespannten Körpers liegt) oder nicht. Nicht-Farbe könnte dann von der Darstellung ausgeschlossen werden. Ein geeigneter Ansatz dürfte die Drahtgitter-Oberflächenerzeugung mittels „Meshing“ sein, wobei Polygonflächen auf diese Punkte gelegt werden. Nur Punkte im inneren Bereich des durch die Polygonflächen bestimmten Körpers sind Farben, außerhalb liegende Punkte werden von der Farbberechnung ausgeschlossen bzw. auf einen Oberflächenpunkt zurückgeführt.


Verfasser: Holger Everding