Allgemein

12th Dresden Color Forum 2019
“freeColour – it’s logical”

12th Dresden Colour Forum 2019
The logic of colour, colour in media

Famous names such as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Wilhelm Ostwald and Manfred Richter bear witness to the leading role played by Central Germany in the development of colour theory and colour theory to this day. The scientists there recently completed “FARBAKS”, a science project on colour, publicly funded with millions of euros. Over the years, the Technical University of Dresden has also brought together an extensive collection of current and historical materials on the theory of colour.


In addition to the conference of the German Colour Science Society, the annual “Dresden Colour Forum” must be described as a highlight in the world of colour, where leading representatives from science, art and architecture gather to present and discuss the latest trends in a relaxed atmosphere. The lectures did not deal with mathematical-physical approaches (which are rather the focus of the DfwG), but with modern forms of printing (which no longer takes place only in print shops), colour theory over the centuries, light design and media architecture or new approaches to conveying colour knowledge at primary schools – in other words a colourful scientific kaleidoscope.

The Lifetime Work and the Harald Küppers Collection

Over the past decades, Harald Küppers has played a major role in developments in the printing industry and colour theory. He was just as successful as an entrepreneur as he was as an author of numerous specialist books. He was active in standardization committees and was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit. Out of purely private interest, he researched the subject of colour, taught, developed his “Rhomboeder” theory of colour and compiled an extensive private library of materials on colour. Now, at the age of 91, he had bequeathed these to the TU Dresden in order to preserve them for posterity and make them accessible to the public.

The conference was largely dedicated to Harald Küppers, there was a laudation from the printing industry and a report by Andreas Kraushaar, the head of Fogra, on how much Küppers is involved in our current printing technology. The lecture by Harald Küppers himself was particularly moving, in which he once again briefly presented his theory of the “colour hombohedron” and which he concluded with the words: “I assume that this is the final solution to the problem of colour theory”.

freeColor

In this environment it was a great honour to have been invited to talk about the reasons and perspectives of free colour and about our association. “Logic of colour” was the motto of the conference, “free colour – is logical” the answer. In the context of the conference and the many interesting topics it became again clear that the approach “free colour” has enormous potential. In addition, there were good new contacts and ideas for projects.

Wilhelm Ostwald

A visit to Großbothen, on the country estate “Energie” and today’s museum of the chemist, colour researcher, Nobel Prize winner, universal genius,… Wilhelm Ostwald (1852-1932) provided further interesting insights.


At this point a big thank you to the organizers of the Dresdner Farbenforum for the invitation!

Holger Everding

Comprehensive links

https://tu-dresden.de/bu/architektur/die-fakultaet/news/12-dresdner-farbenforum
Conference programme 12th Dresdner Farbenforum

https://www.dnn.de/Dresden/Lokales/Dresdner-Farbensammlung-fuehrt-Schattendasein
https://www.deutsches-farbenzentrum.de/2009/11/sammlung-farbenlehre-an-der-tu-dresden/
Colours and Collection of Colour Theory at the TU Dresden

http://www.farbaks.de
Research project FARBAKS (color as actor and memory)

http://kuepperscolor.de
Harald Küppers

https://www.bendin-color.de
Eckhard Bendin

http://www.wilhelm-ostwald.de
Wilhelm Ostwald

http://www.wilhelm-ostwald-park.de
Wilhelm Ostwald Park and Museum Großbothen

https://www.freiefarbe.de/thema-farbe/colour-people/harald-kueppers-kuepperscolor/
Interview with Harald Küppers

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Allgemein

12. Dresdner Farbenforum
„freieFarbe – ist doch logisch“

12. Dresdner Farbenforum 2019
Die Logik der Farbe, Farbe in den Medien

Berühmte Namen wie Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Wilhelm Ostwald und Manfred Richter künden von der führenden Rolle Mitteldeutschlands bei der Entwicklung der Farblehre und Farbtheorie bis heute. Die dort Lehrenden haben erst kürzlich mit „FARBAKS“ ein millionenschweres öffentlich gefördertes Wissenschaftsprojekt zur Farbe abgeschlossen. An der Technischen Universität Dresden hat man im Laufe der Zeit auch eine umfangreiche Sammlung an aktuellen und historischen Materialien zur Farbenlehre zusammen getragen.


Neben der Tagung der Deutschen farbwissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft muss man das jährlich stattfindende „Dresdner Farbenforum“ als Highlight der Farbwelt bezeichnen, bei dem sich führende Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Kunst und Architektur versammeln, um in ungezwungener Atmosphäre die neuesten Trends vorzustellen und zu diskutieren. In den Vorträgen ging es nicht um mathematisch-physikalische Ansätze (die eher bei der DfwG im Mittelpunkt stehen), sondern z.B. um moderne Formen des Druckens (das keineswegs mehr nur in Druckereien stattfindet), Farbenlehre im Laufe der Jahrhunderte, Lichtdesign und Medienarchitektur oder neue Ansätze der Farbwissensvermittlung an Grundschulen – also ein buntes wissenschaftliches Kaleidoskop.

Das Lebenswerk und die Sammlung Harald Küppers

Harald Küppers hatte in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten maßgeblichen Anteil an den Entwicklungen der Druckbranche und der Farbtheorie. Als Unternehmer war er ebenso erfolgreich wie als Autor zahlreicher Fachbücher. Er war aktiv in Normungsgremien und wurde mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz ausgezeichnet. Aus rein privatem Interesse forschte er am Thema Farbe, unterrichtete, entwickelte seine Farbenlehre des „Rhomboeders“ und stellte eine umfangreiche private Bibliothek an Materialien zur Farbe zusammen. Diese hatte er nun, im Alter von 91 Jahren, der TU Dresden vermacht, um sie der Nachwelt zu erhalten und öffentlich zugänglich zu machen.

Die Tagung war zu einem großen Teil Harald Küppers gewidmet, es gab eine Laudatio aus dem Kreis der Druckindustrie und einen Bericht von Andreas Kraushaar, dem Chef der Fogra, wie viel Küppers in unserer aktuellen Drucktechnik steckt. Besonders bewegend war der Vortrag von Harald Küppers selbst, in dem er seine Lehre des „Farbrhomboeders“ noch einmal in aller Kürze vorstellte, und den er mit den Worten abschloss: „Ich vermute, dass dies die endgültige Lösung für das Problem der Farbenlehre ist.“

freieFarbe

In diesem Umfeld war es eine große Ehre, eingeladen worden zu sein, um über Gründe und Perspektiven freier Farbe und über unseren Verein zu berichten. „Logik der Farbe“ war ja das Motto der Tagung, „freieFarbe – ist doch logisch“ die Antwort. Im Rahmen der Tagung und der vielen interessanten Themen wurde nochmal deutlich, dass der Ansatz „freieFarbe“ enormes Potential hat. Daneben ergaben sich gute neue Kontakte und Ideen für Projekte.

Wilhelm Ostwald

Ein Besuch in Großbothen, auf dem Landsitz „Energie“ und heutigen Museum des Chemikers, Farbenforschers, Nobelpreisträgers, Universalgenies,… Wilhelm Ostwald (1852-1932) erbrachte weitere interessante Einblicke.


An dieser Stelle ein großes Dankeschön an die Veranstalter des Dresdner Farbenforums für die Einladung!

Holger Everding

Weiterführende Links

https://tu-dresden.de/bu/architektur/die-fakultaet/news/12-dresdner-farbenforum
Tagungsprogramm 12. Dresdner Farbenforum

https://www.dnn.de/Dresden/Lokales/Dresdner-Farbensammlung-fuehrt-Schattendasein
https://www.deutsches-farbenzentrum.de/2009/11/sammlung-farbenlehre-an-der-tu-dresden/
Farben und Sammlung Farbenlehre an der TU Dresden

http://www.farbaks.de
Forschungsprojekt FARBAKS (Farbe als Akteur und Speicher)

http://kuepperscolor.de
Harald Küppers

https://www.bendin-color.de
Eckhard Bendin

http://www.wilhelm-ostwald.de
Wilhelm Ostwald

http://www.wilhelm-ostwald-park.de
Wilhelm Ostwald Park und Museum Großbothen

https://www.freiefarbe.de/thema-farbe/colour-people/harald-kueppers-kuepperscolor/
Interview mit Harald Küppers

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.