Allgemein

Colour trademark Magenta: Deutsche Telekom vs. Lemonade

Colour trademark Magenta: Deutsche Telekom vs. Lemonade

The dispute about the colour trademark Magenta of Deutsche Telekom, which has been registered since 1995, has received a great deal of media attention. The start-up company Lemonade has applied to the German Patent Office for the cancellation of the trademark for the insurance sector and to the EU Patent Office for the EU cancellation of the trademark. Furthermore, a social media campaign has been launched under the hashtag #freethepink.

Comment

Unbelievable but true: Telekom is trying to declare the color magenta its property and to take it away from as many areas of application as possible. This also applies to industries in which it is not active at all. Several companies have already followed the corresponding warnings sent by Telekom, including Lemonade, which has been advertising in red instead of its actual corporate color magenta since 2018, but is now fighting back. This is courageous and of great importance for the future of freedom from color.

A DPMA trade mark search shows that telecom magenta was registered in very different ways, even in red areas. So not only the exact telemagenta (RAL 4010), but a whole range between violet, pink and red is owned by Telekom. Unfortunately, there are no rules and judgments whatsoever as to how much DeltaE a permissible colour must deviate from a colour mark. Other color brand owners are likely to follow the aggressive Telekom example – eventually we will end up in a world where the free use of colors is no longer allowed because they “belong” to someone else. If we do not want this, we have to do something about it. (Holger Everding)

DPMA trademark search “Colour trademark, Telekom”

Additional links

Trademark Search German Patent and Trademark Office:
https://register.dpma.de/DPMAregister/marke/einsteiger
(select “colour mark” as the trade mark form and register “Telekom” as the owner)

Twitter campaign “#freethepink”:
https://twitter.com/hashtag/freethepink?f=live

Instagram campaign “#freethepink”:
https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/freethepink/?hl=de

Supplement 07.12.2019: Pink-Out Extension

A lemonade developer has published a chrome extension which replaces all magenta tones from a website with grey. This should make the web legally compliant. On the one hand this is meant humorously, but on the other hand it is a logical consequence of trademark law.

https://www.producthunt.com/posts/pink-out-extension

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My Wife Caught Me Watching Porn & Punished Me With A Rough Latex Handjob Real Amateur Porn 34 Yoga Porn with daddy XXX WEBCAM GIRL & Porn Model ~ "SAVANNAH ROSE". Caught watching porn ends up covered in cum and swallowing!

Allgemein

Farbmarke Magenta: Deutsche Telekom vs. Lemonade

Ein größeres Medienecho findet die Auseinandersetzung um die Farbmarke Magenta der Deutschen Telekom, die seit 1995 angemeldet ist. Das Start-Up-Unternehmen Lemonade hat beim Deutschen Patentamt die Löschung der Marke für den Versicherungsbereich beantragt und beim EU Patentamt die EU-Löschung der Marke. Des weiteren hat man unter dem Hashtag #freethepink eine Social Media Kampagne gestartet.

Kommentar

Unglaublich aber wahr: die Telekom versucht, die Farbe Magenta zu ihrem Eigentum zu erklären und sie möglichst vielen Anwendungsbereichen zu entziehen. Dies auch in Branchen, in denen sie gar nicht unterwegs ist. Mehrere Firmen haben die von der Telekom versendeten entsprechenden Abmahnungen bereits befolgt, unter anderem auch Lemonade, die seit 2018 anstatt in ihrer eigentlichen Hausfarbe Magenta in Rot werben, sich nun aber wehren. Dies ist mutig und für die Zukunft der Freiheit von Farbe von großer Bedeutung.

Eine DPMA-Markenrecherche zeigt, dass das Telekom-Magenta in sehr unterschiedlicher Weise, bis in Rotbereiche, eingetragen wurde. Nicht nur das exakte Telemagenta (RAL 4010), sondern ein ganzer Bereich zwischen Violett, Pink und Rot ist also Eigentum der Telekom. Es gibt leider keinerlei Regeln und Urteile darüber, wie viel DeltaE eine zulässige Farbe von einer Farbmarke abweichen muss. Andere Farbmarkeninhaber dürften dem aggressiven Telekom-Beispiel folgen – letztlich werden wir in einer Welt landen, in der die freie Anwendung von Farben nicht mehr erlaubt ist, weil sie jemand anderem „gehören“. Wenn wir dies nicht wollen, müssen wir etwas dagegen tun. (Holger Everding)

DPMA-Markenrecherche „Farbmarke, Telekom“

Weiterführende Links

Markenrecherche Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt:
https://register.dpma.de/DPMAregister/marke/einsteiger
(als Markenform „Farbmarke“ auswählen und als Inhaber „Telekom“ eintragen)

Twitter-Kampagne „#freethepink“:
https://twitter.com/hashtag/freethepink?f=live

Instagram-Kampagne „#freethepink“:
https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/freethepink/?hl=de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.