Allgemein

Fogra Colour Management Café: How to protect colour trademarks?

Fogra Colour Management Café:
How to protect colour trademarks?

The “Colour Management Café” is a regular online event of Fogra, which I attended by telephone. Franz Gernhardt has worked as a lawyer in the renowned law firm Bird & Bird LLP since 2004. He presented the topic “colour brands” in detail.

Colour marks are included in the non-technical property rights, such as word marks, word picture marks, figurative marks and 3D marks. Recently, there are also untypical marks such as sound marks (e.g. today’s news, bets that…, merci), motion marks, multimedia marks, hologram marks,… and even colour marks. These exist in purely flat (contourless) form of a single color and also as a combination of several color tones.

What has to be considered for a colour mark application?

First of all, the colour in question must have a so-called “reputation”, i.e. it must be known to a predominant proportion of persons in connection with the class of products for which the trade mark is applied for. An example is the violet of Milka chocolate.

Secondly, the colour must be specified exactly in the trademark application. The Pantone specification is usually used for this, but RAL, HKS or CIELAB are also possible.

Mr Gernhardt reported that the courts are very different in their approach to the application for colour marks. While some are happy to allow colour marks, others have hardly any chance of registration. He also stated that in the first phase, when colour marks could be registered, there was virtually a run on colour marks. In the meantime, this had calmed down, and the number of colour marks had remained constant for several years.

DPMA colour mark search

The German Patent and Trademark Office allows anyone to conduct trademark searches free of charge and without registration or membership. If you search for applied for or registered colour trademarks, you will get 639 hits. Well-known examples:

Kraft Foods, 3M, Ferrero, Red Bull, Husqvarna, Hilti, Makita, Schwan-Stabilo, WD-40, BMW, Sparkasse, Mars, RTL, BP, O2, Deutsche Post, UPS, Hipp, En, Enercon, OBI, Berlag C.H. Beck, Deutsche Bahn, Financial Times, Deutsche Telekom, Lidl, FC Barcelona, Würth, Bosch,… But also numerous unknown brands are among them, e.g. a regional Oldenburg taxi company.

Trademark search at the DPMA
(Enter the “color mark” as the “mark shape” here)
The search result in the form of an Excel file.

comment

That colour marks would “protect” someone from misuse of their performance is a one-sided and euphemistic assessment by the trademark owners. Rather, colours and colour combinations are in this way withdrawn from general use in certain economic sectors. This is an impoverishment of our world and a curtailment of our freedom. Where will we be if in 50 years’ time not only cosmetics manufacturers but also many suppliers have to be careful if they want to use a beautiful, rich ultramarine blue because other companies have achieved “traffic recognition” for it?

How can you get the idea that a colour belongs to someone? Individual colour shades are not a creative achievement of the trademark owner, but a gift of nature. According to modern scientific definition, colours are nothing more than sensations that take place in our heads – individual experiences. To claim ownership of them, even if this is only the case in certain economic sectors, is ethically questionable and an excrescence of our possessive society.

Holger Everding

left

Colour Management Café of Fogra

Bird&Bird profile Franz Gernhardt, LL.M.

Definition of color at Wikipedia
“A colour is a sensation conveyed by the eye and brain, which is caused by light (…) The perception of colour is a subjective sensation.”



Picture credits
Nivea: Wikimedia Commons, Justin Blümer CC-BY-2.0
Manner: Wikimedia Commons, Tokfoto, CC-BY-SA 4.0
Post-It: Wikimedia Commons, Pavel Krok, CC-BY 2.5
UPS: Wikimedia Commons, Flor!an, CC-BY-SA 4.0
Milka: Wikimedia Commons, Miala, CC-BY 2.5
John Deere: Wikimedia Commons, Mammut74, CC-BY-SA 3.0

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My Wife Caught Me Watching Porn & Punished Me With A Rough Latex Handjob Real Amateur Porn 34 Yoga Porn with daddy XXX WEBCAM GIRL & Porn Model ~ "SAVANNAH ROSE". Caught watching porn ends up covered in cum and swallowing!

Allgemein

Fogra Colour Management Café: Wie schützt man Farbmarken?

Fogra Colour Management Café:
Wie schützt man Farbmarken?

Das „Colour Management Café“ ist eine regelmäßige Online-Veranstaltung der Fogra, bei der ich telefonisch zugeschaltet war. Franz Gernhardt arbeitet seit 2004 als Rechtsanwalt in der renommierten Kanzlei Bird & Bird LLP. Er stellte das Thema „Farbmarken“ eingehend vor.

Farbmarken reihen sich ein in die Nicht-technischen Schutzrechte, wie auch z.B. Wortmarken, Wortbildmarken, Bildmarken und 3D-Marken. Neuerdings gibt es auch untypische Marken wie z.B. Hörmarken (z.B. heute-Nachrichten, Wetten dass…, Merci), Bewegungsmarke, Multimedia-Marken, Hologramm-Marken,… und eben Farbmarken. Diese existieren in rein flächiger (konturloser) Form einer einzigen Farbe und auch als Kombination mehrerer Farbtöne.

Was ist bei einer Farbmarkenanmeldung zu beachten?

Zunächst einmal muss die betreffende Farbe sogenannte „Verkehrsgeltung“ haben, d.h. sie muss einem überwiegenden Anteil von Personen in Zusammenhang mit der Produktklasse, für das die Marke angemeldet wird, bekannt sein. Ein Beispiel ist das Violett der Milka-Schokolade.

In der Markenanmeldung muss die Farbe zweitens exakt spezifiziert werden. Hierfür wird meistens die Pantone-Angabe verwendet, aber auch RAL, HKS oder CIELAB sind möglich.

Herr Gernhardt berichtete, dass die Gerichte der Anmeldung von Farbmarken sehr unterschiedlich gegenüberstehen. Während die einen Farbmarken gern zulassen, hat man bei andern kaum eine Chance auf Eintragung. Er führte auch aus, dass es in der ersten Phase, als Farbmarken eingetragen werden konnten, quasi einen Run auf Farbmarken gab. Dieser habe sich mittlerweile beruhigt, die Anzahl der Farbmarken sei seit mehreren Jahren konstant.

DPMA-Farbmarkenrecherche

Das Deutsche Patent- und Markenamt erlaubt jedem, kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung oder Mitgliedschaft, Markenrecherchen durchzuführen. Wenn man nach angemeldeten oder eingetragenen Farbmarken sucht, erhält man 639 Treffer. Bekannte Beispiele:

Kraft Foods, 3M, Ferrero, Red Bull, Husqvarna, Hilti, Makita, Schwan-Stabilo, WD-40, BMW, Sparkasse, Mars, RTL, BP, O2, Deutsche Post, UPS, Hipp, En, Enercon, OBI, Berlag C.H. Beck, Deutsche Bahn, Financial Times, Deutsche Telekom, Lidl, FC Barcelona, Würth, Bosch,… Aber auch zahlreiche unbekannte Marken sind darunter, z.B. ein regionales Oldenburger Taxiunternehmen.

Markenrecherche beim DPMA
(Hier als „Markenform“ die „Farbmarke“ eingeben.)
Das Suchergebnis in Form einer Excel-Datei.

Kommentar

Dass Farbmarken jemanden vor Missbrauch seiner Leistung „schützen“ würden, ist eine einseitige und schönfärberische Einschätzung der Markeninhaber. Vielmehr werden Farben und Farbkombinationen auf diese Weise dem allgemeinen Gebrauch in bestimmten Wirtschaftsbereichen entzogen. Dies ist eine Verarmung unserer Welt und eine Beschneidung unserer Freiheit. Wo kommen wir hin, wenn in 50 Jahren nicht nur Kosmetikhersteller, sondern viele Anbieter aufpassen müssen, wenn sie ein wunderschönes, sattes Ultramarinblau verwenden wollen, weil andere Firmen „Verkehrsgeltung“ hierfür erreicht haben?

Wie kann man nur auf die Idee kommen, eine Farbe gehöre jemandem? Bei einzelne Farbtönen handelt es sich nicht um eine schöpferische Leistung des Markeninhabers, sondern um ein Geschenk der Natur. Nach moderner wissenschaftlicher Definition sind Farben nichts anderes als Empfindungen, die in unseren Köpfen statt finden – individuelle Erlebnisse. Hierauf Besitzansprüche anzumelden, auch wenn dies nur in bestimmten Wirtschaftsbereichen der Fall ist, ist ethisch fragwürdig und ein Auswuchs unserer besitzorientierten Gesellschaft.

Holger Everding

Links

Colour Management Café der Fogra

Bird&Bird-Profil Franz Gernhardt, LL.M.

Definition Farbe bei Wikipedia
„Eine Farbe ist ein durch das Auge und Gehirn vermittelter Sinneseindruck, der durch Licht hervorgerufen wird(…)Die Farbwahrnehmung ist eine subjektive Empfindung.“



Bildnachweis
Nivea: Wikimedia Commons, Justin Blümer CC-BY-2.0
Manner: Wikimedia Commons, Tokfoto, CC-BY-SA 4.0
Post-It: Wikimedia Commons, Pavel Krok, CC-BY 2.5
UPS: Wikimedia Commons, Flor!an, CC-BY-SA 4.0
Milka: Wikimedia Commons, Miala, CC-BY 2.5
John Deere: Wikimedia Commons, Mammut74, CC-BY-SA 3.0

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.