Allgemein

Picular.co – “Google, but for Colors”

Picular.co – “Google, but for Colors”

A new and interesting approach to search for colours is presented by picular.co. This tool uses Google’s image search and relies on the terms associated with the images. The dominating colour tone is extracted from the picture and shown as a large swatch. Example: “sky” yields several (mostly) blue colours.

The hex value of each swatch is shown, and you can copy it to the clipboard by clicking on it. You can also pin it to a palette at the top of the page and even share this palette on social media or by means of a link saved to the clipboard. If you point your mouse to the picture icon, the underlying image is displayed in soft focus.

The procedure works fine for distinctly-coloured things such as “lemon”, “grass”, etc. or for colour names. However, unexpected results may also be shown; for instance, “infrared” yields a wide array of colours including red, orange, yellow, blue, and green.



Picular.co is suitable for a quick brainstorming. If one is looking for, say, a fitting corporate colour, the site provides good starting points. But you should take the suggestions with a pinch of salt.

The slogan “Google, but for Colours” may be a bit exaggerated and deceiving if you misinterpret it as a search across all commercial colour collections which it is not.

Link: www.picular.co

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Allgemein

Picular.co – „Google, but for Colors“

Picular.co – „Google, but for Colors“

Einen neuen interessanten Ansatz zur Farbsuche bietet die Website picular.co. Sie sucht nach Farbtönen anhand von Begriffen, die in den Dateinamen von Bitmaps hinterlegt sind. Aus dem Bitmap wird die dominierende Farbe herausgefiltert und großflächig gezeigt. Beispiel: „Himmel“ findet zahlreiche Mittelblautöne.

Fährt man mit der Maus über das Farbergebnis, wird das zugrundeliegende Foto unscharf angezeigt. Man kann die Farbe auch in eine eigene Farbkollektion übertragen und ihren Hex-Wert in die Zwischenablage übertragen.

Das Verfahren funktioniert gut für farblich eindeutige Dinge, wie z.B. „Zitrone“, „Gras“ usw. oder für Farbbezeichnungen. Es werden aber auch von der Erwartung abweichende Ergebnisse angezeigt, so zeigt z.B. „Ultraviolett“ unter anderem gelbe und grüne Farbfelder.



Picular.co eignet sich für ein schnelles Brainstorming. Wenn man z.B. auf der Suche ist nach einer passenden Firmenfarbe, liefert die Seite gute Hinweise. Man darf die Ergebnisse aber nicht auf die Goldwaage legen.

Der Slogan „Google, but for Colours“ ist etwas hoch gegriffen und missverständlich. Hierunter könnte man auch eine Suche in Kollektionen aller Hersteller verstehen – so wie unsere Online-Farbsuche, aber noch weitaus umfangreicher.

Link: www.picular.co

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.