Allgemein

Spot Matching System – Pantone Contender from Iceland

Spot Matching System – Pantone Contender from Iceland

Spot Nordic, a company from Reykjavik, offers an interesting colour system: The “Spot Matching System” contains 470 regularly graded colour shades which are offered as colour samples of various production processes (e.g. proof printing, offset printing). The conversions are selected in such a way that the colour shade is as accurate as possible in each case. The idea is to achieve the best possible crossmediality of fixed colour tones (in contrast to this, the colour results are different for HKS K/N and Pantone C/U). As with our HLC colours, the Lab coordinates of the selected colour tones form the basis.

The print versions exist as colour fan, as poster and as PDF download. The prints are priced rather highly, e.g. the uncoated colour fan with the 470 SMS colours is offered for 299 EUR. This is nothing else than a screened four-colour print without spot colours – other comparable CMYK atlases and fan decks are sometimes offered for less than 50 EUR. A PDF file with 470 colour named samples in sRGB, on the other hand, is comparatively inexpensive at 29 EUR, and the basic SRGB target shown above is available free of charge.

For an annual fee of 420 EUR you can register as an SMS user and receive the above sRGB PDF chart free of charge, discounted prices for CMYK products and download access to further colour values and tables.

The website design could do with improving; it is not responsive and contains long text sections in which you first have to search for the (quite numerous) meaningful content.

Crossmedial colour is a reasonable approach – yet great success of SMS may be doubtful.

Manufacturer link to the Spot Matching System: www.spot-nordic.com/sms
Spot Matching System in sRGB for web design, free version

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Allgemein

Spot Matching System – Pantone-Konkurrenz aus Island

Spot Matching System – Pantone-Konkurrenz aus Island

Die Firma Spot Nordic aus Reykjavik hat ein interessantes Farbsystem auf den Markt gebracht: Das sogenannte „Spot Matching System“ enthält 470 regelmäßig abgestufte Farbtöne, die als Farbmuster verschiedener Herstellungsverfahren (z.B. Proofdruck, Offsetdruck, Screen, TV) angeboten werden. Die Umsetzungen sind so gewählt, dass der Farbton jeweils möglichst exakt getroffen wird. Sinn ist eine bestmögliche Crossmedialität fester Farbtöne (im Unterschied hierzu sind bei HKS K/N sowie bei Pantone C/U die Farbergebnisse unterschiedlich). Basis sind, wie bei unseren HLC Farben, die Lab-Koordinaten der gewählten Farbtöne.

Die Druckumsetzungen existieren als Farbfächer, als Poster und als Download-PDF. Bei den Drucken fällt der hohe Preis auf, so wird z.B. der Farbfächer uncoated mit den 470 SMS Farbtönen für 299 EUR angeboten. Hierbei handelt es sich um nichts anderes als einen gerasterten Vierfarbdruck ohne Sonderfarben – vergleichbare andere CMYK Atlanten und Fächer werden teilweise unter 50 EUR angeboten. Das oben gezeigte Basis-sRGB-Target steht kostenlos zur Verfügung (pdf-Link siehe unten). Eine PDF-Datei in sRGB, auf der die 470 Farbmuster mit jerweiligem Namen angegeben werden, kostet 29 EUR.

Für einem Jahresbeitrag von 420 EUR kann man sich als SMS-Anwender registrieren lassen und erhält dann das obige sRGB PDF-Chart kostenlos, vergünstigte Preise für die CMYK-Produkte und Download-Zugang zu weiteren Farbwerten und Tabellen.

Die Website wirkt grafisch unausgereift, ist nicht responsiv und enthält lange Textstrecken, in denen man die (durchaus zahlreich vorhandenen) aussagekräftigen Inhalte erst einmal suchen muss.

Crossmedial einheitliche Farbe ist ein sinnvoller Ansatz – der Erfolg darf hier aber bezweifelt werden.

Hersteller-Link zum Spot Matching System: www.spot-nordic.com/sms

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.