HLC Colour Atlas

New: HLC Colour Atlas

We developed the HLC* Colour Atlas and see it as a new basis for all stages of professional colour communication – from design to the final product. The printed atlas is the central tool. The ring binder contains 2040 CIELAB-HLC colours, which are systematically arranged by hue/base colour, lightness/brightness and chroma/saturation.

Ring binder Page with hues H90 and H100 Media wedge for quality control

 

The HLC Colour Atlas is produced by Proof GmbH on an Epson SC-P9000V Spectro printer with high effort for quality optimisation. This printing system is mainly used for prepress, fine art printing and art reproduction proofing. Thanks to the additional colours orange, green and violet, highly saturated colours can also be produced. To further increase colour accuracy, interactive CMYK optimisations are carried out on the software side. In this way we achieve a mean Delta E2000 of 0.8, most colour fields even a Delta E2000 of smaller than 0.3. The achieved colour accuracy was not yet feasible a few years ago, it is close to that of the far more expensive varnish printing.

You can buy the HLC Colour Atlas in the Online-Shop of Proof GmbH. The introductory price is 99 Euros plus VAT and shipping.

Free software package

The following files can be downloaded from the download page individually or as a package:

  • pdf Version: HLC Colour Atlas for soft proofs on screen, for printing, for fast gamut comparison (CIELAB, sRGB, CMYK according to FOGRA39/51/52).
  • Measurement report of the printed HLC Colour Atlas with target/real values comparison and Delta E calculations (Excel).
  • ASE colour libraries for the Adobe CS and CC programs, with which you can use the colours shown in the atlas directly by mouse click in the applications
  • sRGB and CMYK colour value tables in Excel format
  • Spectral data 380-760 nm at 10 nm intervals: the CXF3 format is compatible with industrial colour formulation systems in various industries, such as printing inks, coatings, plastics or textiles.

We want to spread the idea of free colour: you are welcome to pass on the data – commercial purposes are also permitted (Creative Commons licence CC-BY-ND 4.0).

Basis: CIELAB colour model (HLC)

HLC Colour Wheel in 10° hue angle increments

The atlas is an exemplary implementation of the CIELAB colour space, which was introduced by the Commission Internationale de l’Eclairage in 1976 and has since established itself worldwide in colour management, colour measurement and colour formulation. The model has great advantages:

  • not only certain gamuts, but all visible colours are clearly defined
  • free predictability (e.g. any gradation, counter colours, intermediate colours)
  • perceptually structured by HLC: intuitive according to hue/brightness/saturation, easy to understand
  • unhindered distribution, since mathematically defined, not protectable and license-free

Open Standards, Creative Commons Licence, non-profit organisation

The project is completely based on open standards – for colour definitions it is the CIELAB colour model, for the production of physical samples it is proof printing systems according to ISO 12647-7 and for the exchange of spectral data it is the CxF file format. All data is published under CreativeCommons license. This means: All users can freely use the developed colour data and samples and further develop them.

With the non-profit freieFarbe e.V., the focus is not on economic considerations, but on promoting open and free colour communication, which we consider urgently necessary. That is why we see ourselves as a suitable supporting body of the project.

The experience also flows into our DIN SPEC 16699 research project “Open Colour Communication”, which describes colour communication based on free and open standards.

Thank you for contributing

The HLC Colour Atlas project is the result of intensive cooperation between the experts within freieFarbe e.V. Additionally, external partners generously support the project.

fF Members

Jan-Peter Homann oversees the project with his expert knowledge and he also represents the approach in a research project for the German Standards Institute (DIN). Holger Everding initiated the creation of a Lab-based colour reference toolset by producing Lab and HLC fan decks covering the 4C offset printing gamut. Peter Jäger contributes to the project with design and public relations work. Eric Soder supports it in terms of design as well as conceptional and technical assistance. Matthias Betz contributes English texts, produces prototypes and final products, and he undertakes the distribution as well.

ColorLogic GmbH


… is “an independent company focused on the development of world-class color management technologies and products”. ColorLogic supports the project with software that is used for the automated spectral measurement and quality optimisation of thousands of individual colours, the creation of quality protocols, and file format conversions.

GMG GmbH & Co. KG


“GMG is a leading developer and provider of high-quality color management software solutions.” (Website) GMG sponsors proofing media and software for constant and colour-consistent printing and for quality control and documentation in the production process.

Epson Germany GmbH


The leading global player in the field of printing systems sponsors the printing ink required for the project.

Scribus


Gregory Pittman wrote scripts for the automated creation of colour swatch tables. Along with Christoph Schäfer, he also edited English texts.


*Note: In colour science, the notation “LCH” or “LCh” is commonly used. The order “H-L-C” expresses the usual procedure for colour matching according to “hue – lightness – chroma” and is otherwise identical in content.

HLC Colour Atlas

Neu: HLC Colour Atlas

Den von uns entwickelten HLC* Colour Atlas verstehen wir als neuartige Basis für alle Stufen der professionellen Farbkommunikation – vom Design bis zum fertigen Produkt. Der gedruckte Atlas ist das zentrale Arbeitsmittel. Das Ringbuch enthält 2040 CIELAB-HLC-Farben, diese sind systematisch-intuitiv geordnet nach Hue/Farbart, Lightness/Helligkeit und Chroma/Sättigung.

Ringbuch Einzelseiten H90 und H100 Prüf-Protokoll

 

Produziert wird der HLC Colour Atlas von der Proof GmbH auf einem Epson SC-P9000V Spectro Drucker unter hohem Aufwand für die Qualitätsoptimierung. Das eingesetzte Drucksystem wird vorwiegend in den Bereichen Proofing für die Druckvorstufe, Fineart Printing und Kunstreproduktion eingesetzt. Dank der Zusatzfarben Orange, Grün und Violett lassen sich damit auch stark gesättigte Farben darstellen. Zur weiteren Steigerung der Farbgenauigkeit werden softwareseitig interative CMYK-Optimierungen durchgeführt. Wir erreichen auf diese Weise ein mittleres Delta E2000 von 0.8, die meisten Farbfelder sogar ein Delta E2000 von 0.3. Die erreichte Farbgenauigkeit war vor wenigen Jahren noch nicht machbar, sie reicht an die des weitaus teureren Lackdrucks heran.

Käuflich erwerben kann man den HLC Colour Atlas im Online-Shop der Proof GmbH. Der Einführungspreis beträgt 149 Euro plus MwSt und Versand.

Gratis-Softwarepaket

Die folgenden Dateien können Sie auf der Download-Seite einzeln oder als Paket herunterladen:

  • pdf Version: HLC Colour Atlas für Softproofs am Bildschirm, zum Selbst-Ausdrucken, zum schnellen Gamut-Vergleich (CIELAB, sRGB, CMYK gemäß FOGRA39/51/52).
  • Messreport des gedruckten HLC Colour Atlas mit Soll-Ist-Vergleich und Delta-E-Berechnungen (Excel)
  • ASE-Farbbibliotheken für die Adobe-CS- und CC-Programme, mit denen man die im Atlas gezeigten Farben direkt per Mausklick in den Anwendungen verwenden kann (Achtung: Bei 2040 Farbfeldern ist mit einer längeren Ladezeit zu rechnen).
  • sRGB- und CMYK-Farbwertetabellen im Excel-Format
  • Spektraldaten 380–760 nm in 10-nm-Intervallen: das CXF3-Format ist kompatibel zu industriellen Systemen der Farbrezeptierung in unterschiedlichen Branchen, wie z.B. Druckfarben, Lackfarben, Kunststoffe oder Textilien

Geben Sie die Daten gern weiter – auch kommerzielle Zwecke sind gestattet (Creative-Commons-Lizenz CC-BY-ND 4.0).

Basis: CIELAB-Farbmodell (HLC)

HLC-Farbrad in 10°-Winkelung

Der Atlas ist eine beispielhafte Umsetzung des CIELAB-Farbraums, der 1976 von der Commission Internationale de l’Eclairage vorgestellt wurde und sich seitdem im Farbmanagement, in der Farbmessung und -rezeptur weltweit durchgesetzt hat. Das Modell hat große Vorteile:

  • nicht nur bestimmte Gamuts, sondern alle sichtbaren Farben sind eindeutig definiert
  • freie Berechenbarkeit (z.B. beliebige Abstufungen, Gegenfarben, Zwischenfarben)
  • wahrnehmungsgerechter Aufbau
  • HLC-Darstellung: intuitiver Aufbau nach Farbton/Helligkeit/Sättigung, leicht verständlich
  • ungehinderte Verbreitung, da mathematisch definiert, nicht schutzfähig und lizenzfrei

Offene Standards, Creative Commons Lizenz, gemeinnütziger Träger

Das Projekt beruht vollständig auf offenen Standards – für die Farbdefinitionen ist es das CIELAB-Farbmodell, für die Herstellung der physischen Samples sind es Proofdrucksysteme nach ISO 12647-7 und für den Austausch von spektralen Daten ist es das CxF3-Dateiformat. Alle Daten veröffentlichen wir unter CreativeCommons-Lizenz. Das bedeutet: Alle Anwender können die entwickelten Farbdaten und Samples frei nutzen und diese weiterentwickeln.

Beim gemeinnützigen freieFarbe e.V. stehen nicht betriebswirtschaftliche Überlegungen im Vordergrund, sondern die Förderung der offenen und freien Farbkommunikation, welche wir für dringend geboten halten. Daher sehen wir uns als geeigneten Träger des Projekts.

Die Erfahrungen fließen auch in unser DIN-Forschungsprojekt „Open Color Communication“ ein, welches die Farbkommunikation auf Basis offener Standards beschreibt.

Danke für die Unterstützung!

Das HLC Colour Atlas Projekt ist das Ergebnis intensiver Zusammenarbeit der Fachleute innerhalb des freieFarbe e.V. Von weiteren externen Partnern wird das Projekt großzügig unterstützt.

Vereinsmitglieder

Jan-Peter Homann betreut das Projekt mit seinem Expertenwissen und vertritt den Ansatz auch im Rahmen eines Forschungsauftrags beim DIN. Die von Holger Everding produzierten HLC-/Lab-Farbfächer stellen Startschuss und Programmiergrundlage dar. Peter Jäger unterstützt das Projekt mit Design-Dienstleistungen und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Eric Soder liefert Design und konzeptionelle wie auch fachtechnische Unterstützung. Matthias Betz steuert englische Texte bei, produziert Prototypen und Endprodukt, und er übernimmt auch den Vertrieb.

ColorLogic GmbH


… ist „ein unabhängiges Unternehmen, das sich auf die Entwicklung erstklassiger Farbmanagement-Technologien und -Produkte konzentriert.“ ColorLogic unterstützt das Projekt mit Software, welche für die automatisierte spektrale Erfassung und Qualitätsoptimierung tausender Einzelfarben, die Erstellung von Qualitätsprotokollen sowie Dateiformat-Konvertierungen eingesetzt wird.

GMG GmbH & Co. KG


„GMG ist ein führender Entwickler und Anbieter von hochwertigen Farbmanagement-Softwarelösungen.“ (Website) Die von GMG beigesteuerten Proofmedien und Software-Lizenzen werden zur konstanten farbverbindlichen Druckeransteuerung und zur Qualitätssicherung/-Dokumentation im Druckprozess eingesetzt.

Epson Deutschland GmbH


Der führende Global Player im Bereich der Drucksysteme steuert die im Projekt benötigte Drucktinte sowie ein zusätzliches Proofgerät als Leihgabe bei.

Scribus


Gregory Pittman erzeugte Skripts für die automatisierte Erzeugung von Farbmustern. Zusammen mit Christoph Schäfer redigierte er auch englische Texte.


*Anmerkung: In der Farbmetrik ist die Schreibweise „LCH“ oder „LCh“ verbreitet. Die Reihenfolge „HLC“ bringt das bei der Farbabmusterung übliche Vorgehen nach „Farbton – Helligkeit – Sättigung“ zum Ausdruck und ist ansonsten inhaltlich identisch.